Back to news

Lambeth GPs re-elect Clinical Commissioning Group Chair​


Lambeth GPs have re-elected Dr Adrian McLachlan as the Chair of NHS Lambeth Clinical Commissioning Group. Governing Body elections took place between 24 June 2013 and 19 July 2013 with the results announced today 25 July 2013.

Dr McLachlan has been a GP in Lambeth for over 20 years and has been leading the development of Lambeth CCG since it came into being in shadow form in April 2011.

Commenting on his re-election Dr McLachlan said: "I am very grateful to my colleagues for their validation of the work I have done so far to develop the CCG and lead it through authorisation. It has been a challenging but very enjoyable journey and I look forward to continuing to work with GPs, other clinicians and Lambeth people to make a difference to health and health services and most importantly for me, reducing health inequalities in the borough."

Dr Neil Vass, Chair of the CCG’s Collaborative Forum, the group that holds the Governing Body to account said: "I am delighted with the level of engagement and support for the CCG. Forty two of Lambeth’s 48 practices took part in the elections representing 91 per cent of the population of the borough. We have a good balance of continuity on our Governing Body alongside new faces bringing fresh ideas and leadership to the CCG."

Other GPs elected to the Governing Body are: Dr John Balazs, Dr Raj Mitra, Dr Lisa Le Roux, Dr Sadru Kheraj, Dr Hasnain Abbasi and Dr Ray Walsh.

The CCG is a membership organisation made up of the 48 GP practices in Lambeth. On 1 July 2013, two practices merged so there were 49 practices at the start of the election process.